Ecotrib 2015

3-5 June 2015

Lugano, Switzerland

Lugano View

The European Conference on Tribology 2015 (Ecotrib 2015) is the fifth biennial Conference organized in collaboration between the Swiss, Austrian, Italian and Slovenian tribology societies. Ecotrib 2015 will provide an international forum for researchers from industry and academia to discuss the latest research approaches and results in tribology, as well as recent applications concerning reduction of wear, controlling of friction, and enabling reliable functioning of technical systems. The meeting will cover all aspects of tribology, including:

Advanced tribomaterials
Biotribology and biotribomaterials
Biofuels & biolubricants
Coatings and surface engineering
Environmental tribology and energy conservation
Fundamentals of friction and wear
Industrial case studies
Lubrication and lubricants, including solid lubricants
Modelling and simulation in tribology
Nano and microtribology
Surface characterization and contact mechanics
Tribology in machine elements
Tribology in manufacturing processes
Tribotesting and monitoring of tribosystems
Wear Mechanisms: fatigue, fretting, sliding, abrasion, erosion, cavitation, etc

Special dedicated sessions will be held on the following subjects:

Lubricants and lubricant additives
Tribological measurement techniques

Invited speakers include:

Hugh Spikes, Imperial College, London, UK
Nuria Espallargas, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
Frederik Wolf, Anton Paar, Germany
Erio Tosatti, Scuola Internazionale Superiore di Studi Avanzati, Italy
Michael Urbakh, Tel Aviv University, Israel

1-page abstracts for oral and poster presentation (pdf format, to be headed with title, authors, and affiliation) should be sent to Dr Rowena Crockett ( If you wish to participate in one of the dedicated sessions, please write the subject of the session directly above the title of the abstract. (There will be no special publication of full papers for submitted abstracts. Therefore, there is no full paper template and no review of the full paper.)

Submission deadlines for abstracts:

Oral presentations by 20 March 2015
Poster presentations by 31 March 2015

Organizing committee:

Rowena Crockett, Empa, Switzerland
Jan Fiala Goldiger, VSS Lubes, Switzerland
Enrico Ciulli, University of Pisa, Italy
Terenziano Raparelli, Politecnico di Torino, Italy
Mitjan Kalin, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Andreas Pauschitz, AC2T research GmbH, Austria
Reinhard Polak, Austrian Tribology Society, Austria

Scientific committee:

Nicholas D. Spencer, ETH Zürich, Switzerland
Mousab Hadad, Nova Swiss AG, Switzerland
Andrea Vanossi, CNR-IOM & SISSA, Italy
Boris Kržan, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Rok Simic, University of Ljubljana, Slovenia
Roberto Bassani, University of Pisa, Italy
Francesco Massi, University of Rome "La Sapienza", Italy
Paolo Pennacchi, Politecnico di Milano, Italy
Gerwin Preisinger, SKF Österreich AG, Austria
Friedrich Franek, Austrian Tribology Society, Austria
Wilfried J. Bartz, Technische Akademie Esslingen, Germany

Registration Fees:
Full fee 550 SFr
Students 200 SFr

Register Here

Accommodation Information